Wanderlust

I am determined to be an adventurer, a traveler, a maker of memories. I want to see the world, not just own things in it. I’ve become too accustomed to accumulating objects, not life. That is simply not working anymore. While I know I need a substantial income to continue making these experiences more than just daydreams, I also don’t want to waste my time just planning for it to happen. I need to make it happen.

I don’t have time to waste planning for a future I’m not sure exists. While I have a stable savings, and I do not intend to take from it, I am also not going to pine my life away dreaming of exotic places. I want to go there. I want to breathe the air, meet the people, and immerse myself into the culture. I want to kayak in clear blue waters, gaze at the stars from a mountaintop, walk the paths that my ancestors have tread before me, and experience the way it feels to be free.

I want to see the seven wonders, set foot on the grounds where history was made, and eat the food of indigenous peoples. My heart yearns for experiences, moments, memories that will fulfill my soul for years to come.

When I am settled in a home with a family, I want to say that I have lived my single life well. Many people say life begins when you start a family, but my life will begin with adventure. My needs and my wants will not be emphasized when I have a family, but rather my children’s and their children’s. And I want them to know how to experience the world before they are responsible for another life. I want them to be able to learn from me and my experiences.

I want to have stories to tell and memory boxes filled with photos and postcards from all of my adventures. I don’t need trinkets or charms from my favorite places; I just need a journal and a pen. I crave the unknown like I have not lived until it’s met my gaze.

I want to see the world, and I plan on it. I have a savings dedicated to adventure. I’m using it to backpack through Europe next year in the month of May. Who knows what my next adventure will entail? But, I’m planning it.

This year, I am booked for Denver and Cleveland to see family and friends. I also plan to go to California, New York and maybe even Louisiana. I want to experience life. I want to see what people talk about first hand – Mardi Gras, The Great American Beer Festival, Niagra Falls and La Jolla. These are just a few of the places and events I hope to experience this year.

I owe it to myself to be an adventurer – to save for my future, but not to waste my present. I owe it to the life I have now to be completely and utterly spontaneous (even if I don’t have a single spontaneous bone in my body). I’m going to live, and I’m going to have a good life. I am a nomad, a lover, a fighter, and a storyteller.

It’s time I start acting like one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

