Self-Conclusion

What would you do if you knew today was your last day on Earth? What would you say to someone who wants to choose that fate? The Spill Canvas has a song entitled Self-Conclusion that has such a beautiful story about a girl on the edge. Their lyrics are simply beautiful. It describes so well what most of us are so reluctant to admit. On our hardest days, we all consider the worst, if only for a slight second. The daydream seems to make the pain a little easier to deal with… 

“We all flirt with the tiniest notion
Of self conclusion in one simplified motion
You see the trick is that you’re never supposed to act on it
No matter how unbearable this misery gets
I would be lying if I said that things would never get rough
And all this cliche motivation, it could never be enough.”

I used to be a person who thought that being broken was a weakness. I’ve come to learn that it’s a strength. The key is knowing that we are not, and will never be, strong enough to make it on our own. We all have to accept this. No one is capable of handling the world’s punches by themselves. It takes strength to admit you’re broken. Whether you find that strength in religion, family, friends or community, you have help.

There have been several suicides at my university since I arrived here three years ago. This absolutely devastates me. I wish I could have been there, in that moment, to tell them how important they are, even if the world has made them think otherwise. Some people search their entire lives for someone to understand them. Why is it so hard for us to reach out to people? We are all searching for the same things. Love, acceptance, importance… We just want to feel like we aren’t alone.

Depression is an ugly illness that takes its victims captive. I’ve struggled with it many times in my life and by having experience dealing with the ups and downs that it shoots at you, I know that temptation gets to you. Strength is not allowing it to rule your life, and sometimes you get flat out tired of being strong. However, the one thing that I’ve learned is that there will ALWAYS be someone, stranger or friend, that wants to be there to help you find your feet again.

If you are feeling alone, depressed, angry, sad, mad… If you feel like no one understands you, talk to someone you trust, or talk to a stranger. My ears are always open for someone searching for an understanding heart. I won’t ask you to seek help. You’ve probably heard that a thousand times and I know often times it’s the scariest thing to do (especially when no one volunteers to go with you to your first shrink visit).

My advice is to find something that makes you happy, or releases your stress. For me, when I get in a distressed mood, I take a hike in the woods and listen to the calmness of nature. Taking a drive and blasting my favorite music also helps. Music, especially songs like Self-Conclusion, helps. It lets us know we aren’t alone and that someone out there genuinely cares.

There are several organizations for suicide-prevention. I’m a huge advocate of To Write Love On Her Arms. Help is out there and people want you to know you aren’t alone. That’s what this post is all about. Several of my blog posts advocate loving others, above anything else. It’s my religion, with the word being used as loosely as possible.

If you’re contemplating ending your life… If you’re in need of someone to talk to… Seek and you will find. If you aren’t experiencing these feelings, be sympathetic to those who are. Most people aren’t after attention when they seek out help. Most people have a deep despair that they need help understanding, accepting and overcoming.

Be open, listen and above all…. LOVE.

It could save a life.

Leave a Reply

