The Power of Understanding

I often fantasize about living in an age without modern technology. Sure, the accessibility and ease with which it comes is wonderful, but have we abused the gift we’ve been given? Like many other things in life, we tend to take advantage of opportunities when it’s not our place to do so. What’s wrong with understanding modern math without using a calculator? Why do we have to be reachable at all times? When did it become a sin to take a day where you simply take time to enjoy nature?

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I want to throw my laptop, cell phone and television out the window and sit down to have a normal face-to-face conversation with a friend over coffee. That’s another thing about technology. While the digital age allows us to connect with our friends from all over the world by just the touch of a button, it also has decreased the ability we had to communicate effectively with each other. I don’t know how many times I’ve gotten that disrespectul, cop-out of a break-up text. Yes, text. Guys don’t even know how to act talking over the phone with someone that they have to have a serious conversation with. They take the easy way out and send an exploding time bomb to their soon-to-be ex girlfriend and wait on pins and needles for a response that will likely end in a fight.

Love has always been one of those things that’s difficult for both men and women. We’ve all had our heart broken once or twice and then we lug around the baggage with us hoping someone will magically make it disappear. Well, guess what? Technology has not advanced far enough to allow someone else to take care of that problem for you. It’s your responsibility. Yup. You heard me right. You’re going to have to take care of this one on your own. This world seems to have a problem understanding how to do that now-a-days. I know I sound like some old-timer trying to convince you that the do-it-yourself era was a better one. I’m not rooting for a certain team here. The generations do enough to battle that one out on their own.

All I’m saying is we don’t have to discredit everything that was done in the past just because our parents and grandparents weren’t as liberal as we are. The years change and we move forward. Does this mean that we have to abandon all of our values? Believe it or not, history is one of the most valuable tools we have. If you look deep enough, you’ll figure out that someone, somewhere has had an experience that will be useful to you. It’s time to stop being as rebelious and learn things the easy way for once.

I’m one to talk. My motto used to be “I’ll try anything once!” Let me tell you, that will always end in trouble. Stick to your values and learn from your parents’, friends’ or partner’s mistakes. You don’t always have to experience something for you to know that a bad thing is a bad thing.

The world is full of critics. I’m not trying to be one of them. All I know is that I’m learning from the past. Not only do my friends’ mistakes weigh heavy on my heart, my own are there taking ahold of me as well. I never claim to be a grounded person. I feel like this insinuates that I’m stuck in my ways. Let’s get real. My opinions will always evolve. My values and morals, however, those will always stay the same. I grew up knowing that hard work will bring you success. I’ve done nothing but cling to this my entire life.

As I’m struggling with my job search now, I find that more often than not, it’s all about who you know and not how much you know or how hard you work. While being determined and driven will get you ahead, it may not get you where you intend to go. This doesn’t have to be negative. I’m not saying that all of my hard work and perserverence won’t pay off. I know that it will eventually when I run across someone who still sees things from my point of view. Or else I’ll end up working for someone because I made connections. Whichever it is, I worked hard and reaped rewards.

Work is not the only thing that counts in life. In fact, it may be the thing that counts the least. The people who support you and surround you are the best people to learn from. I have made it my goal in life to continue to let my experiences mold me into a better person. I want to be someone who cares more for people than I do about the benefits I may claim.

To do this, I have to hold tightly to the value I put on love. That’s no easy task. I was once so broken that I thought that love could not possibly exist. I thought that it was only a fake emotion people expressed to get something in return. Then I experienced more love than I could possibly imagine from people that I never expected to even accept me. They showed me more compassion than I ever thought possible and gave me more than I could ever hope to return expecting nothing back.

You see, the world will shape you into who it wants you to be if you allow it to do so. It will take you, break you and make you think that there is only one way to be. It can make you into a cold-hearted person that has no hope, but I beg you not to stand for it. Be someone who feels good about yourself when you wake up in the morning. Be someone who is proud to live your life. Even when it gets hard, be someone to depend on. Most importantly, let other people love you. Have faith in yourself. Don’t let this consumer-driven society bring out the worst in you.

We have decades upon decades of history to learn from. We have no excuse for not bettering ourselves.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Understanding

  1. Great post to make us think about the way we are developing, especially the younger generation who will grow up without having ever sent a letter and relying on all kinds of technology and gadgets. I love your last 2 sentences, its very true.

Leave a Reply

